Restyling all WPF Controls

In my last post I detailed how I restyled a WPF expander control. I started with the restyled expander control from the Simple Styles SDK sample and altered it to display using the Vista black or deep gray color scheme. Well I wasn’t satidfied having just an expander in this color scheme, so I went ahead and restyled all of the controls in the Simple Styles sample. I added IsMouseOver property triggers to a number of the visual elements to give the user more feedback when something is clickable. Now I have a nice toolbox full of controls in this color scheme that I can use to build applications. Here are screen shots of my results. Click on an image to see it in full size.

mystyles1
mystyles2

All source code for this including the Visual Studio 2008 project is located Here. You may use any of this code in your own applications as you wish, as long as you don’t violate whatever code use argrements accompany the Microsoft SDK. This code did after all originate in the SDK samples.

1 Response to “Restyling all WPF Controls”


  1. 1 Alex January 20, 2010 at 4:12 am

    Hey there!

    Thank you very much for your little tutorial on restlying WPF controls. I was about to create my own set entirely when I noticed that you had already done a completed “theme” šŸ™‚

    Of course then, it seemed to make more sense to only adapt your styles and templates in certain ways, rather than building them from scratch.

    So without further ado:
    A screenshot of a tiny application I built using your controls in adapted form:

    Thanks for sharing that! It allowed save a lot of time and leave the superior at my internship very impressed with what WPF can do (not only due to the styles but data binding etc.).

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
I am a part of all that I have met;
Yet all exprience is an arch whitherthro'
Gleams that untravell'd world, whose margin fades
For ever and for ever when I move.
How dull it is to pause, to make an end,
To rust unburnish'd, not to shine in use!
Alfred, Lord Tennyson

